Hanoi, a photo essay

I’ve just spent a month in Hanoi. Rather than publish an entire blog post for just one place, I decided to take a “photo essay” approach to showcasing my trip instead.

Looking at the pictures is easy: click on this link and it will take you to my SmugMug photo sharing site. At the top left of the page you’ll see the tile for Hanoi. Click on that and you’ll be in business. Each photo includes a caption highlighting information about the photo, and the city.

I hope you enjoy them. I’m also planning stays in Phnom Penh and Bangkok and will post photos for those places too, so…stand by!

And thanks for looking!

6 thoughts on “Hanoi, a photo essay

  1. Great Hanoi photos Andrew – and very timely.
    I’m off to Vietnam for 10 weeks in January and am really looking forward to getting up north.
    Unfortunately, I hadn’t realised that since covid, 3 month tourist visas are no longer possible, so will have to do a visa run at 30 and 60 days. (I’ll investigate whether I can extend my visa whilst in Vietnam instead of having to leave the country.)

    Like

    1. Yes you’re right. As of right now it’s not possible to extend a visa once in country, though of course that may change by the time you get there. Lots of people are doing visa runs, though. I met and talked with a couple of folks. It seems 3 or even 4 extensions have been easy enough to get, no questions asked. You have to buy a new one each time, which is a nuisance and gets expensive, but it’s doable for sure. Good luck!

      Like

Leave a comment